Vedic Astrology is that branch of astrological science which deals with the planetary motions, movements and their positions with respect to time and their effect on human beings and other objects present on earth. This type of astrology can be traced thousands of years back. Earlier, Vedic astrology was only confined to the movement of the planets with respect to the stars, but later it also had the zodiac signs included. Well, according to Vedic astrology, there are 27 constellations in the universe made of 12 zodiac signs, 9 planets and 12 houses with each house, planet and zodiac sign revealing some aspect of human life. Depending upon when a person is born, the 12 signs of the zodiac are distributed among the 12 houses and 9 planets are placed in various houses. This visual representation of the snapshot of the signs and planets is called a horoscope chart. Vedic astrology is nothing but interpreting the meaning of these arrangements as it applies to humans and other entities.


Vedic Astrology (Jyotisha) has three main branches:

  • Siddhanta (Astronomy): Astronomy & its application to astrology
  • Samhita (Mundane astrology): Covers Mundane astrology, predicting important events related to countries such as war, earth quakes, political events, astro – meteorology, financial positions, electional astrology; house & construction related matters (Vaastu Shaastra), animals, portents & omens etc.
  • Hora (Predictive astrology):

This branch has the following different styles / sub branches:-

    • Jaatak Shaastra / Hora Shaastra (Natal Astrology / horoscopy): Prediction based on individual horoscope.
    • Muhurt or Muhurtha (Electional astrology): Selection of beneficial time to initiate an activity to get maximum fruition from the life activities.
    • Swar Shaastra (Phonetical astrology): Predictions based on name & sounds.
    • Prashna (Horary astrology): Predictions based on time when a question is asked by querent / querist.
    • Ankjyotisha / Kabala (Numerology): A branch of astrology based on numbers.
    • Nadi Astrology: An ancient treatise having detailed predictions for individuals.
    • Tajik Shaastra / Varsha Phal (Annual Horoscopy): Astrology based on annual solar returns.
    • Tajik Shaastra / Varsha Phal (Annual Horoscopy): Astrology based on annual solar returns.
    • Jaimini Sutras: A non-conventional method of timing of events based on Famous Indian astrologer, Acharya Jaimini.
    • Nastjaatakam (Lost Horoscopy): Art of tracing / construction of lost horoscopes.
    • Streejaatak (female astrology): A special branch of astrology dealing with female nativities.


Nakshatras have an impressive system of prediction which is based on the position of the moon in a given constellation in Vedic astrology. In the Vedic system of Astrology, the 27 constellations are the key to understanding celestial influences on the planet. These 27 constellations are the 27 Nakshatras. Geographically, these Nakshatras are 300 to 400 light years away from earth. Vedic or Hindu astrology offers a most powerful predictive technique which is based on the Nakshatra of a person at the time of birth. The zodiac is divided into 12 signs and 27 constellations. Each one of them covers thirteen degrees and twenty minutes of the zodiac. Each Nakshatra is the head of a particular group of stars.


Vedic Panchang, Hindu Panchang or Hindu Panchangam is an astrological almanac that is used to calculate time and it is considered as an auspicious calendar by Hindus. Ancient Indian scholars had studied the positions of planetary bodies and stars in details. After this detailed study, a comprehensive calendar was prepared to act as an advisor for all the dates and events. So Vedic panchang has its deep roots and been followed for the past five thousand years. Panchanga is a Sanskrit word that means “five limbs” in which Panch means five and Anga means body part. Every Hindu panchang have five elements, which are:

  • Tithi (lunar day),
  • Nakshatra (Moon’s constellation with which it is aligned),
  • Karana (half-day),
  • Yoga (a particular angle of the sun and moon)
  • Vara or vasara (solar weekday)

If you want to know impact of sign on you then you must know the zodiac or Rashi phala in order to understand Vedic panchang which can also make the predictions of this kind.

Some Vedic panchang are made for one year and some are for 100 or more than that number of years. The one that is for the 100 years is called Vishvavijaya Panchanga. One National Panchanga or the Indian National Calendar is also prepared by the Government of India.


The Hora is one hour duration in a day, ruled by a particular planet. In a week, on each of the seven days, starting from the sunrise or sunset time, there are 24 horas ruled by the seven planets. Depending on the ruling planet the horas are either suitable or inimical for various undertakings. This can be used to select a suitable time for an undertaking.

For example: You want to check the hora on Wednesday 10.00 am. Your local news paper gives the sunrise time as, say 6.30 am. The first hora (of the first hour after sunrise) is up to 7.30, 2nd up to 8.30 and so on. So the time you want to check, i.e. 10.00 am, falls on the 4th hora and is ruled by Jupiter.

If a planet is in “Sun’s hora” or “Moon’s hora”, astrologers normally use an interpretation that puts the planet in Leo or Cancer respectively. As per this interpretation, Sun’s hora means Leo in hora chart and Moon’s hora means Cancer in hora chart.

This results in a hora chart that has all the planets in two signs – Cancer and Leo. Is it correct to place all planets in just two signs always? How can such a chart be interpreted?

Some astrologers disagree with this interpretation and use alternatives that utilize all the twelve signs.

Source by Atoot