ALLAHABAD: In a major setback for the authorities of Allahabad University on the issue of forming the maiden student council on the campus, 15 out of 17 students, who had filed their nominations on Wednesday, have withdrawn their candidature.

Now just two students are left in the fray and AU authorities would be scrutinize their papers before coming out of a final list which is to be announced on October 20.

However, with just two names left for the formation of the electoral college, which otherwise consist of 70 members of class representatives, AU authorities are holding an emergent meeting on the campus to discuss the situation.

As per the regulations of the student council, these 70 members, half of which (35) should be girls, would have contested for the Five posts of president, vice president, general secretary etc.

Those who are left in the fray are Shabina Khatoon and Vagish Shukla.

But the problem, now being faced by the varsity administration is that there are just two left in the fray and if sources are to be believed, there is objection against one of the girl students and the second one is not ready to contest.

Returning officer (RO), Prof R K Singh said, “15 students have taken back their names and now with just two students remaining, we are mulling over the issue as what options do we have”.

Meanwhile, the student leaders are celebrating the development, terming this as the victory of the student fraternity and the democracy on the campus. They played Holi and distributed sweets at Balson crossing of the city.

However, the authorities of Shyama Prasad Mukerjee Degree college, a constituent college of AU, have cancelled the proceedings related to formation of student council on their campus. The decision of the principal of the college comes in wake of the fact that no student turned up to file his or her nominations on Thursday, the only day allotted for filing of nomination papers.

Elections for student council is momentously being held at AU and Three of its constituent colleges, namely CMP Degree college, ADC Degree College and Shyama Prasad degree college.